Lonely Night Hideaway: Lee Road

Lee Road Southbound
Humble, Texas 77396

January 2004–A lone girl emerged from the drivers side door with a pen, notebook, and one of those little lamp lights that you can clip onto your book and read in the dark with. I sat and watched her from the opposite side of the lot as she climbed on top of her hood and began writing in her notebook. Every once in awhile she would stop and watch a plane land, but then she would get right back to her work. I wanted to know what she was doing all by herself on top of her car in the middle of the night, but she didn’t look as if she wanted to be bothered. With the coming and going of a few more cars I decided it was time for me to go too.
I went back to the same spot the next day when the sun was out. I noticed that none of the other cars heading southbound on Lee Road paid much attention to the little gated area off to the side that I had been to the night before. All the surrounding area of Lee Road is used for the airport. All the open space around it is the runways for the planes to land on when coming back to Bush Intercontinental Airport. I’ve found, just as the mystery writer I mentioned before, that sitting in your car at night at that little spot off Lee Road , the sight can be very relaxing, and quite spectacular. When the sky is dark and starry, and you can’t actually see the plane itself, just the lights, it makes a stunning night sky. It’s one of the best places to go when you just want to get away from it all and relax.

Lee Road also, probably no surprise to any of you reading this, is often occupied by the cars of young lovers trying to get some “alone time”. Those who are not quite old enough to have their own place yet, but old enough to have their own car. The scene plays out just like that of the stereotypical teen movie or sitcom. The couple finds a quiet little place that they can go and park their car and not look suspicious, and of course end up in the back seat. Predictably when asked what they were doing at Lee Road the girl will blush and say that they were “watching the planes land”, what else would they be doing at Lee Road? On a more serious note , it is quiet surprising how many people actually do come to Lee Road to watch the planes land. Lee Road has seemed to have gotten a bad reputation, because all that is ever talked about are the above mentioned people. Everyone that only hears these stories, and has never actually gone out there themselves, probably has this twisted idea of what it’s like to got to Lee Road. It’s not just young couples everywhere. There’s older people, people by themselves, families, etc. I remember going there as a little girl with my family. My sister and I would lay down in the bed of my Dad’s truck and watch the gleaming lights of the planes as they would disappear into the night sky. That might not sound like your idea of fun , but if you come out to Lee Road you might surprise yourself. There’s no other place where you can go and spend time with your friends, talk, relax, and just get away from it all ,that‘s FREE , like Lee Road. It gives people a break from the loud music, neon lights, and drunken peers that is night life. Don’t get me wrong, that’s fun and I ‘m all about a good party, but it’s nice every once in a while to get a break from it all. To go somewhere and just relax. True, it doesn’t look like much, but the possibilities are endless.

Since Lee Road is never occupied by cars during the day, I decided to go back later that night. When I arrived there were only two other cars in the lot, so I just parked my car over in the corner and sat there for awhile. Both cars were occupied, but the people weren’t coming out. As I was getting bored of these two cars, one little blue car came flying into the lot and found a spot right in the front of the lot. Soon the windows were rolled down and two teenage girls emerged from the car and laid down on top of it. Since the windows to the car were rolled down you could still hear the ever so familiar chorus of David Banner and Lil’ Flip’s “Like a Pimp”. As the two girls laid on their backs starring into the sky they would occasionally burst into laughter about something one of them said, or point to stars in the sky. This went on for some time until Mya’s “My Love is like…Wo” came blasting out of the windows and one of the girls jumped down to the ground for an impromptu lip synch. The girl that was left on the car almost fell off because she was laughing so hard. Even I was laughing. I couldn’t help but laugh thinking about how ridiculous this girl was looking in front of all these other people, but then again, I don’t think they really noticed. I had been so busy watching the girls that I hadn’t even noticed that my mystery writer had once again shown up. She sat and indiscreetly watched the girls next to her sing along to the radio for awhile, but she eventually opened up her book and went to work. Though I waned to go talk to her, the singing girls seemed more approachable , so I decided to get out of my car and ask them a few questions. “I come out here and chill all the time,” one of the girls said as she sipped on a bottle of Vanilla Pepsi. When asked why she wasn’t out at a club she laughed and drank more of her Pepsi, “That just gets old sometimes, you know? Its cool sometimes to just go somewhere with a friend and just chill, not have to worry about getting yourself lookin’ all cute for stupid boys who are gonna bother you, or worry about paying for stuff. Its real relaxin’ to come out here and just chill. Everybody needs fresh air sometimes.” Nodding in agreement the girls friend added, “Nobody bothers you out here. Everybody just goes about their own business. None of them cars over there come bother us when we singing, we don’t go bother them when they makin’ their cars rock, you know? It’s just got the whole do your own thing vibe. I like it.” As the girls were talking I noticed the night sky getting darker and darker, so I decided it was time for me to leave.

Wondering more and more about what brings the girl with the notebook to Lee Road over and over again, I drove out there one more time. When I arrived there were two cars parked in the far right corner, and another one off to the left. The car off to the left was surrounded by teenage boys who each had a bottle in their hands. They were laughing and being really loud until a police car drove by. They all stopped and looked at the car for a minute, and when it began to turn around, they all jumped in the car and spilt. I found this quite humorous and was laughing when I noticed another car pulling in. Watching silently, I was not surprised to find that it was once again the mystery writer I had seen before. I decided that I was finally going to go talk to her. I asked her what it was about Lee Road that made her keep coming out here all the time. She looked kind of surprised that I was asking her questions, but she answered anyway, “I’m a writer. I can’t ever seem to write in my house though, its always too busy. There’s too many people and they can’t ever be quiet. I used to go to the library and write, but the library closes at night, and that’s when I like to write the most. Coming out here is relaxing to me. I can just sit outside and look at the sky and organize all my thoughts.” Satisfied with this answer , I got in my car and left.

Map:

 

Leave a Reply

